top of page

Update from Karon Eltgroth Winzenz

Since our 50th reunion much has happened in my life. Jerry and I, with two children each, now have 10 grandchildren ranging from ages 24 to 10. We built a retirement home in Door County on Lake Michigan in 2005. I joined the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship here and have found the spiritual home that I have long sought. I love the intellectual, cultural, and artistic climate of the county and Jerry loves the natural surroundings. We had a huge family reunion to celebrate Jerry’s 80th birthday in 2016; I can assure you that chaos was no longer just a theory

I earned a Master’s in Art History with an emphasis in ancient Maya art from UWM in 2008. Since then my papers have been included in one journal published in Edinburgh, Scotland, two edited volumes in the USA, and one in Canada — all published by various university presses. I continue to give papers at national and international conferences. I also teach non-credit classes on the ancient Maya, including one at Bjorklunden.

I travel a lot. I tour every year with the Maya Society of Minnesota lead by prominent archaeologists and anthropologists. The last one included witnessing the saints’ day festivals in traditional Maya communities near San Cristobel de las Cases in the highlands of Chiapas, Mexico. Led by the world’s leading expert in Maya textiles from the region, for me it was the highlight of our tour. Last year I traveled to France twice, once with my eldest daughter Anna to southern France to see medieval architecture and art, and once with Road Scholar to Normandy, Paris, and sites along the Seine.

Since the 2017 presidential election I have become active in ‘Indivisible’ and its three chapters in Door County contacting representatives, protesting, and demonstrating. Seems more like the 60s although my hair color has changed.

Last summer I decided to return to painting and rented studio space next to a new gallery opened by a former student who now represents me. The gallery includes five of my former painting students and I just couldn’t resist returning to my first passion, making art.

At this point I tell people that I still can’t decide what to do when I grow up!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page