top of page

Curling at the Winter Olympics Sparks Lawrence Memories

Delaney (Rosalie Ward), circulated this query, “ Did any of you take Curling at Lawrence? I did, and the Olympics made me think about it… I took curling for one semester, and I can easily recall the marvelous feel of those 40-pound polished granite stones. Curling was more aesthetic than athletic for me. I'm sure that my score reflected that.

Roxy Fuller McLean replied, “I either took curling at Lawrence or went to the curling rink in LaCrosse with Heather Holley and her family, all of them dressed in Scottish kilts, tams, the whole works. They don't dress like that at the Olympics, a loss for all of us.

Karen Hamilton West was the serious curler for a season. “This picture appeared in the Appleton Post-Crescent newspaper back in 1961, my Sophomore year, the only season I curled. My dad was an avid curlier for over 40 years, from age 40 to mid-80’s. Daughter, Sheri, has started curling this season with the Charlotte Curling Association. She’s loving it! Guess it’s in the genes.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page